Installing Fr0st

Update 05-22-2010: These instructions are out of date. Releases are now available from launchpad. If you’re on a Linux distro, you should check out the updated Linux instructions.

Fr0st is still under heavy development, but it’s starting to look more and more like a usable program. To try it out, you’ll need to get a copy of the latest version first, which can be downloaded here:

http://fractalfrost.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/fractalfrost/trunk/

(click on the “Download GNU tarball” link at the bottom)

Windows

For the final 1.0 release, we’ll provide binary files. However, since fr0st is still in beta and changes day to day, you’ll have to run the source version for now.

You’ll need the following installed:

-python2.6.x: http://python.org/download
-wxpython: http://www.wxpython.org/download.php#binaries
-numpy: http://sourceforge.net/projects/numpy/files

Just run fr0st.py and you’ll be good to go.

Linux

These instructions have been tested in Ubuntu 9.04 only. You’ll need the following:

-python2.6.x (comes preinstalled)
-wxpython: sudo apt-get install wx-gtk2.8
-numpy: sudo apt-get install python-numpy

To install flam3 as a shared library, do the following:

-Add this software source:
deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian etch main

-Get the following through your package manager:
zlib1g-dev
libpng12-dev
libxml2-dev
libjpeg62-dev

-Get the source tree (http://flam3.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/flam3/branches/early-clip/src)
You can also get it via SVN: svn co https://flam3.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/flam3/branches/early-clip/src flam3-2.8

-In the folder you downloaded it to, type the following commands:
./configure –enable-shared
make clean
make
sudo make install

Just run ./fr0st.py and you’ll be good to go.

Mac

I don’t have a mac, so I’d appreciate if anyone could let me know the specific steps required. It shouldn’t be hard to figure out based on the windows and linux instructions found on this page.

11 Responses to Installing Fr0st

  1. garmo says:

    When I run ./fr0st.py I get this message: MissingUtilsModuleError: This method requires the cython module ‘fr0stlib._utils’ which is not available. What do I need to do to make it work? I’m using ubuntu 9.10.

    • Vitor says:

      Hi Garmo,

      You need to run the following:

      “python setup.py build_ext –inplace”

      That should take care of the missing module.

      Vitor

      • garmo says:

        I copy/pasted that command and I got “invalid command name ‘–inplace'”, so I tried “–inplace” and Igot a long list of warnings followed by a long list of errors. Then I tried “-inplace” and it seemed to work but I still get the same error: MissingUtilsModuleError: This method requires the cython module ‘fr0stlib._utils’ which is not available. Is there another way to fix this?

  2. Vitor says:

    It’s definitely –inplace (with 2 hyphens).

    You’re probably missing a dependency to build the extension, like cython or python-dev, that’s why you’re getting errors.

    “sudo apt-get install cython python-dev” may solve the issue for you.

  3. Rick says:

    To build flam3 as a shared library, I had to issue the command differently than what was posted above.

    ./configure -enable-shared=yes

    One hyphen only.

    I’m not certain if it’s distribution specific, but it seems to be in the config script that it’s looking for this syntax.

  4. Joe says:

    when ever I run the fr0st.py I receive the following error.

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “./fr0st.py”, line 23, in
    from fr0stlib.gui import Fr0stApp
    File “/home/joe/fr0st/fr0stlib/gui/__init__.py”, line 27, in
    from fr0stlib.gui.filetree import TreePanel
    File “/home/joe/fr0st/fr0stlib/gui/filetree.py”, line 24, in
    from wx.lib.mixins import treemixin
    ImportError: cannot import name treemixin

    I’m running Ubuntu 9.10

    The only thing I can think of is there may be a problem with the naming of wxpython. I had to install it using synaptic as the command sudo apt-get install wx-gtk2.8 didn’t work and the package I have is called python-wxgtk2.8. Could someone advise on what I may be missing.

    I’ve run it in Windows and have created some phenomenal images using that but I’d like to use my Ubuntu box as it has three times the power as my Windows setup.

    • Vitor says:

      python-wxgtk2.8 is fine (I believe both package names work). It’s possible there’s a version mismatch. You can check your wxpython version by running the following in the terminal:

      python -c “import wx; print wx.version()”

      This returns 2.8.9.1 for me, maybe you’re on an older version? You could also try checking directly if the affected module is present in your filesystem. On my machine, wxpython is located in /usr/share/pyshared/wx-2.8-gtk2-unicode, and treemixin.py specifically is in /usr/share/pyshared/wx-2.8-gtk2-unicode/wx/lib/mixins.

      Let me know if you keep having trouble. You can also stop by at #fr0st-users on freenode.

  5. Joe says:

    I ended up getting it fixed by completly removing all packages involving wxpython and installing python-wxgtk2.8 using synaptic. I checked in the /usr/share/pyshared/wx-2.8-gtk2-unicode/wx/lib/mixins. and it was there but for some reason fr0st was telling me it didn’t exist. I later found out that it was going into the 2.6 version even though I had both installed.

    Thanks for the assistance.

  6. ylee says:

    I had the same issue Joe had, ImportError: cannot import name treemixin.

    Morevoer the command python -c “import wx; print wx.version()” failed to work, hmmm. Taking a closer look, i found out I have both python-wxgtk2.6 and python-wxgtk2.8 installed. I am not sure why python-wxgtk2.6 is installed but i left it. I ended up adding:

    import wxversion
    wxversion.select(‘2.8’)

    to the file …/fr0st-1.4-src/fr0stlib/gui/__init__.py before wx is imported. MIght make sense to add some code to catch errors like this. Anyway, Nice little app thanks.

  7. toxicdwarf says:

    Not sure if this is already common knowledge, or even an outdated method, but I have just very easily installed and am running fr0st on a macbook pro using osx 10.8.3 by using the windows installer with a Wineskin Winery wrapper. I did find that for some reason the preferences panel would not open and froze the program if using the Ws9Wine 1.5.29 engine. With the WS9 1.5.27 engine it runs very nicely. I am blown away at how fast this is compared to Apophysis7x 15D, which is what I have been using so far.

Leave a Reply

